Sydney University secured a well-earned 1-1 draw with Mounties Wanderers in the NSW Men’s Premier League 2 soccer fixture at Cook Park, Mt Prichard on Saturday night.

A well-taken opportunity from Hayato Wakino ensured University came away with something from the match after Nathan Sansom was sent off.

The dismissal of the passionate defender after his second yellow card was the only blight on the weekend for the club.

For the first time in 2013, Uni teams were undefeated in the entire round. The club conceded a mere six goals in eight matches.

Goals from Jack Golbach and Benjamin Knobel  enabled the under-20s to remain undefeated in their past four matches after a slow start to the season.

All four Boys’ Premier League teams (under-15 to under-12) are in the top five. The boys’ teams went into round 12 leading the Football NSW Club Championship, ahead of rivals Mt Druitt.



NSW Men’s Premier League 2 – Round 12

First Grade: Sydney University 1 (Hayato Wakino) Mounties Wanderers 1 at Cook Park, Mt Prichard.

Under 20: Sydney University 2 (Jack Golbach, Benjamin Knobel) d Mounties Wanderers 1 (Stjepan Curic).

Under 18: Sydney University 1 (Alexander Nicolosi) d Mounties Wanderers 0 v Northern Tigers – Washout.

Under 16: Sydney University 1 (Emilio Kalotinis) Mounties Wanderers 1 (Leyton Hinton).

Under 15: Sydney University 0 Mounties Wanderers 0.

Under 14: Sydney University 1 (Jordan Kougias) d Mounties Wanderers 0.

Under 13: Sydney University 2 (Charlie Peters 2) Mounties Wanderers 2 (Adrian Ferreira 2).

Under 12: Sydney University 4 (Conor Fitzgerald, Ryan Teague, Domenic Citarella, Alex Talbot) d Mounties Wanderers 1.

NSW Women’s Premier League – Round 11

First Grade: Sydney University 1 (Erin Wilson) Blacktown Spartans (Logan Garard) 1 at Wilson Park.

Reserve Grade: Sydney University 3 (Monique Andreatta, Sarah Johnston, Stephanie Ambrose) d Blacktown Spartans 1 (Jamie Anyon-Smith).

Under 16: Blacktown Spartans 2 d Sydney University 0.

Under 14: Sydney University 5 d Blacktown Spartans 3.

Under 12: Sydney University 3 d Blacktown Spartans 1.