Despite no play being possible on a wet weekend in Sydney, the Universities Women’s Cricket Club (UWCC) has been crowned 2012/13 Sydney Cricket Association First Grade Twenty20 Premiers, their first ever Premiership in any grade.

Unfortunately for the second week in a row persistent storms and rain put paid to any hope of play, as both the semi-finals and grand final matches were abandoned, but as the Minor Premiers UWCC took the title.

Incredibly the club used 25 different players in the first grade T20 side this season. The unusually high number was a result of a number of players having state, national and university/school commitments.

2012 SUSF EAP scholarship holder Erin Burns took out the clubs T20 batter of the year, scoring the most runs and averaging 102 with a strike rate of 182. Last year’s wicket keeper of the year Emily Mifsud was awarded the clubs T20 bowler of the year, with 11 wickets at an average of 6.36 and miserly economy rate of 4.12.

The team now turns its focus to the 50 over competition where they are leading by 18 points, with five rounds left to play.