Henry selected in Cricket Australia Chairman’s XI

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Henry selected in Cricket Australia Chairman’s XI

Sydney University Cricket Club (SUCC) representative and SUSF Elite Athlete Program (EAP) scholarship holder Scott Henry’s meteoric rise up the ranks of Australian cricket has continued after he was selected in the Cricket Australia (CA) Chairman’s XI to play Sri Lanka beginning this Thursday.

Henry has been selected as an opener in a team featuring some of the nation’s most promising batting talent (which also includes Usman Khawaja who will captain the team and Alex Doolan) in the clash that runs from December 6-8 at Manuka Oval, Canberra.

The stylish left-handers selection comes on the back of four half centuries this season with state team NSW, including a top score of 81 not out against Victoria at the SCG last month.

Henry, who had recently secured a Big Bash League (BBL) contract with Shane Warne’s Melbourne Stars team, will miss his franchises first match this Friday night against cross town rivals the Melbourne Renegades after his selection in the CA Chairman’s XI team.

He will be on deck for the Stars for the remainder of the BBL, and will line up against fellow SUCC team mates Ian Moran (Sydney Sixers) and Sean Abbott (Sydney Thunder) who have also secured BBL contracts.

Moran’s Champion’s League winning Sixers (of which former SUCC’s Stuart Clark is the General Manager and current player Greg Mail is a coach) take on Abbott’s Thunder this Saturday night at the SCG.  

Chairman’s XI: Usman Khawaja (capt), Luke Butterworth, Alex Doolan, Matthew Gale, Marcus Harris, Travis Head, Scott Henry, Glenn Maxwell, Chadd Sayers, Dean Solway, Ashton Turner, Sam Whiteman.