St George quick Daniel Magin stamped his mark on two grades during Round 2 Sydney grade cricket clashes with Sydney University.

Called up to play First Grade on the second day of the two-day match at Hurstville Oval – as a stand-in for Trent Copeland and Josh Hazlewood who were on NSW duties – Magin collected 5-12 as Sydney University tallied 98 in reply to St George’s 9(dec)-189.

St George collected first innings points after Sydney University finished the day on 3-82 in their second innings, with opener Scott Henry 46 not out, following his 104 for NSW Seconds against Western Australia during the week.

The previous Saturday Magin collected 8-29 in Sydney University Second Grade’s first innings of 92. Unfortunately, his good work for the Seconds was not repaid by St George’s willow-wielders, who were all out for 50 in the first innings and 108 in the second innings as they slumped to an outright defeat.

Sydney University earned first innings wins in Third and Fourth grades and suffered a first innings loss in Fifth Grade. The Metropolitan Cup match against UNSW at St Paul’s College Oval was abandoned with UNSW 4-28 when rain stopped play.

Sydney University opened the Twenty20 season with a 28-run win over Mosman at Rawson Park on Sunday.

Mark Faraday (50 not out), Nick Larkin (36 not out) and Scott Henry (28) helped the Students to 3-132 off their 20 overs after they had won the toss and batted.

They then rolled Mosman for 104 off 18 overs, with Tim Ley collecting 4-15 and Sean Abbott 3-22.

The Students will host Sutherland in a two-day Round 3 match starting at Sydney University No.1 Oval on Saturday.


Sydney Men’s Grade competition – Round 2 (Two-day matches)

First Grade: St George Sydney 9(dec)-189 (Stewart McCabe 93, Kurtis Patterson 33; Tim Ley 4-50, Ben Joy 3-39) d Sydney University 98 (Sean Abbott Greg Mail 17, Sean Abbott 15 not out, Nick Larkin 19; Daniel Magin 5-12, Steven Green 2-34) and 3-82 (Scott Henry 46 not out; Steven Green 2-9) on the first innings at Hurstville Oval. Toss: St George. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: St George 6, Sydney University 0.

Second Grade: Sydney University 92 (Ben Larkin 30, Will Hay 26; Daniel Magin 8-29) and 3-69 (Will Hay 24 not out, Liam Robertson 22; Michael Holmes 2-20) d St George 50 (Damien Burke 17, Mitchell Edwards 13; Nigel Cowell 7-15, Josh Toyer 2-15) and 108 (Mitchell Edwards 32; Ben Joy 3-19, Josh Toyer 3-27) outright at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: St George. Batted first: St George. Points: Sydney University 10, St George 0.

Third Grade: Sydney University 203 (Brendan Pyke 70, Jack Hill 47, Peter Murray 39; Shaun Cahill 3-30, Michael Holmes 3-44, Terence Howes 3-51) d St George 199 (Daniel Arahu 56, Shaun Cahill 48, Christopher McArthur 32) on the first innings at Harold Fraser Reserve. Toss: St George. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, St George 0.

Fourth Grade: Sydney University 272 (Darius Visser 45, Edward Lewis 44, Alasdair Grant 41, Stuart McLean 31, Charles Arcus 28; Corey Fogarty 3-45) d St George 243 (Brent Atherton 96, Stephen Wark 36) on the first innings at Sydney University No.2 Oval. Toss: St George. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, St George 0.

Fifth Grade: St George 82 (Ross Vincent 24; Sam Mahabady 4-52, Lewis Freeth 3-19) d Sydney University 63 (Paul Witherly 5-20, Gavin Dennett 3-12) on the first innings at Cahill Park. Toss: St George. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: St George 6, Sydney University 0.

Metropolitan Cup – Round 2

UNSW 4-28 v Sydney University at St Paul’s College Oval. Match abandoned due to rain.

Sydney Men’s Twenty20 competition – Round 1

Sydney University 3-132 off 20 overs (Mark Faraday 50 not out, Nick Larkin 36 not out, Scott Henry 28; Matthew Day 1-23) d Mosman 104 off 18 overs (Alfie Taylor 22, Matthew Day 20, Michael Bryant 17; Tim Ley 4-15, Sean Abbott 3-22, Tom Kierath 2-5) by 28 runs at Rawson Park. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 6, Mosman 0.