Rivers & Butturini named in Australian Olympic hockey squads

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Rivers & Butturini named in Australian Olympic hockey squads

Sydney University will have a representation in both the Australian women’s hockey team and the men’s team at the 2012 London Olympics, after Megan Rivers and Matthew Butturini were named yesterday in their respective squads.

Rivers is a former Sydney University Elite Athlete Program (EAP) scholarship holder and a Graduate of the university – Bachelor of Applied Science (Exercise and Sports Science).

She has been named as one of seven Olympic veterans in the Hockeyroos Olympic Games squad, having made her Olympic debut four years ago in Beijing where the women’s team finished fifth.

Rivers, who has been on the national team since 2003 and has played over 170 games for Australia, will be pivotal to Australia’s attack in midfield alongside teammate Hope Munro.

In the Kookaburra’s squad, fellow Sydney University Graduate Matthew Butturini (Bachelor of Science) has been selected for his first Olympic Games.

Butturini, a defender, debuted for the Kookaburras in 2009 and made an impact to secure his position on the Champion’s Trophy squad, where he put in some great performances to help the team claim the gold medal.

More recently Butturini helped Australia win a silver medal at the Olympic test event earlier this year.

Rivers and Butturini will join Krystal Weir, Olivia Price (Sailing), Ed Fernon (Modern Pentathlon), Murray Stewart (Canoe/Kayak – Sprint), Jessica Fox, Kynan Maley (Canoe/Kayak – Slalom), Matthew Mitcham, Loudy Wiggins (Diving) as Sydney University representatives named to compete for Australia at the 2012 Olympic Games.

Angela Ballard (Athletics) and Jennifer Blow (Goalball) have been selected to represent Australia at the 2012 London Paralympics.