Former Sydney University Elite Athlete Program (EAP) scholarship holder Kaarle McCulloch will make her Olympic debut at the 2012 London Olympic Games after being named on the Australian track cycling team.

McCulloch, who has studied a Bachelor of Human Movement (Exercise Science) at Sydney University as well as ACPE will team up with compatriot Anna Meares in the women’s team sprint, an event they have dominated in recent years with three world championship gold medals and several world cup victories as a duo.

McCulloch and Meares won silver at this year’s world championships after a narrow defeat to their German competitors, who had to set a new world record to win.

McCulloch will join Megan Rivers, Matthew Butturini (Hockey), Krystal Weir, Olivia Price (Sailing), Ed Fernon (Modern Pentathlon), Murray Stewart (Canoe/Kayak – Sprint), Jessica Fox, Kynan Maley (Canoe/Kayak – Slalom), Matthew Mitcham, Loudy Wiggins (Diving) as Sydney University representatives named to compete for Australia at the 2012 Olympic Games.

Angela Ballard (Athletics) and Jennifer Blow (Goalball) have been selected to represent Australia at the 2012 London Paralympics.