Sydney University maintained second place on the Sydney Grade Cricket two-day (Belvidere Cup) competition ladder despite losing to St George on the first innings at University No.1 Oval at the weekend.

The hosts were in a strong position at 2-81 at stumps on Saturday, having dismissed St George for 248 after winning the toss and giving the visitors first use of the wicket.

But quicks Trent Copeland (3-44) and Daniel Magin (3-55) made life difficult for the Students on Sunday, and Sydney University were rolled for 213, with Greg Mail (53), Ben Larkin (38) and Tim Ley (32) providing the bulk of the runs.

The win lifted St George to ninth on the ladder, with hopes of a top-six finals berth, while Sydney University will regroup for a two-day encounter with 11th placed Northern District at University No.1 Oval starting this Saturday.

The Students will be buoyed by the return of Scott Henry, Stuart Clark, Ian Moran and hopefully Stuart MacGill from the Big Bash League Twenty20 tournament.

UNSW are runaway leaders in the Belvidere Cup on 72 points, with Sydney University (59), North Sydney (56), Manly-Warringah (53), Fairfield-Liverpool (50) and Eastern Suburbs (49) making up the top six.

Meanwhile, Sydney University Seconds gained maximum points with an outright win over St George at Hurstville Oval, thanks to Nigel Cowell, who finished with match figures of 10-37.

Adam Theobald (58), Will Hay (53), Kevin Desai (51), Josh Toyer (27) and Nigel Cowell (25) helped the Students to a healthy first innings of 276, before Nigel Cowell (7-20) helped skittle the hosts for 93.

Sent in for a second occupation of the crease, Saints managed 126, with Cowell (3-17) and Josh Toyer (4-26) causing most of the damage.

Sydney University Thirds collected six points for a low-scoring first innings win in which Ronit Lotliker collected 3-4 as St George were skittled for 96 in reply to Sydney University’s 126.

St George secured first innings wins on Fourths and Fifths, while Randwick-Petersham caused an upset in the Metropolitan Cup match with a two-wicket win over competition leaders, Sydney University, at Kensington Oval.



Sydney Grade competition – Twenty20 final

First Grade: Randwick-Petersham 5-181 off 20 overs (Adam Coyte 57 not out, Usman Khawaja 34, Nathan Hauritz 23; Tim Ley 2-40, Tom Kierath 1-23) d Sydney University 8-136 off 20 overs (Scott Henry 52, Greg Mail 21, Tom Kierath 21; Burt Cockley 3-34, Nathan Hauritz 2-15) by 45 runs at Sydney University No.1 Oval on January 26. Toss: Randwick-Petersham. Batted first: Randwick-Petersham. Umpires: Greg Davidson, Bill Hendricks.

Round 12 (Two-day matches)

First Grade: St George 248 off 73.2 overs (Blake Fitzgerald 65, Trent Copeland 32, Kevin Pillay 28, Daniel Magin 28; Will Somerville 4-21, Greg Mail 3-36) d Sydney University 213 off 78.2 overs (Greg Mail 53, Ben Larkin 38, Tim Ley 32; Steven Green 4-74, Trent Copeland 3-44, Daniel Magin 3-55) on the first innings at Sydney University No. 1 Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: St George. Points: St George 6, Sydney University 0.

Second Grade: Sydney University 276 off 87 overs (Adam Theobald 58, Will Hay 53, Kevin Desai 51, Josh Toyer 27, Nigel Cowell 25; Michael Holmes 4-65, Mitchell Edwards 3-51) d St George 93 off 43.2 overs (Joshua Siely 46, Nicholas White 21; Nigel Cowell 7-20, Josh Toyer 2-28, Tom Kierath 1-2) and 126 off 54.2 overs (Joshua Siely 19, Mitchell Edwards 17, Nick Shurmer 16; Josh Toyer 4-26, Nigel Cowell 3-17, Tom Kierath 2-19) outright at Hurstville Oval. Toss: St George. Batted first:  Sydney University. Points: Sydney University 10, St George 0.

Third Grade: Sydney University 126 off 62 overs (Stuart McLean 28, Jack Hill 26; Jack Fitzgerald 5-37, Stephen Wark 3-18) d St George 96 off 53.3 overs (Ross Vergopoulos 39; Ronit Lotliker 3-4, Kerrod McPherson 2-23) on the first innings at Sydney University No.2 Oval. Toss: St George. Batted first: Sydney University Sydney. Points: Sydney University 6, St George 0.

Fourth Grade: St George 7-221 off 69.2 overs (Matthew Ryder 68 not out, Matthew Baden 35, Michael Turnbull 34, Michael Greene 28 not out; Brendan Pryke 2-29, Peter Murray 2-54) d Sydney University 8-219 (Ash Cowan 68, Peter Murray 30, Charles Arcus 26, Brendan Pryke 24, Andrew Logan 23; Corey Fogarty 6-48, Matthew Ryder 2-35, Gaven Dennett 2-42) on the first innings at Harold Fraser Reserve. Toss: St George. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: St George 6, Sydney University 0.

Fifth Grade: St George 7-156 off 57 overs (Jack Daskey 43, Mark Ridge 32 not out, Curtis Cheney 28) d Sydney University 155 off 71.4 overs (Simon Cowan 38, Matt Skinner 28) on the first innings at St Paul’s College Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: St George 6, Sydney University 0.

Metropolitan Cup

Randwick-Petersham Green 8-166 off 49 overs d Sydney University 165 off 41 overs (Steven Green 39 not out, Kieran Tate 35) by two wickets at Kensington Oval. Toss: Randwick-Petersham. Batted first: Sydney University. Points: Randwick-Petersham 6, Sydney University 0.