Students down in Division Three thriller

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Students down in Division Three thriller

A six-goal final quarter helped UNSW-Eastern Suburbs clinch the Division Three title with a 28-point win over Sydney University in the Sydney AFL Premier League competition played at Blacktown Olympic Park on Saturday.

Sydney University levelled the score early in the final term before the minor premiers, who had only dropped one game during the competition proper, lifted on the back of two Sam Tagliabue goals to close out the contest.

The Bulldogs started the better, having all of the ball in their forward half in the opening five minutes but in the wake of Sydney University pressure were only able to kick one goal through Shane Powell.

Having harnessed the Bulldogs, Sydney University kicked their only goal of the quarter at the 13-minute mark.

The Bulldogs added three goals in the second quarter, the first from Best of Ground Ben Camilleri, who ended up with five goals, while Sydney University hit back with two goals in two minutes from Tom Radford and Riordan Lee.

The third quarter saw the Bulldogs begin to tense as Sydney University narrowed the lead to a goal at three-quarter time. The highlight of the term was a banana kick goal from the right forward pocket from Jack Walker, Sydney University’s best player for the day.

But after levelling the scores early in the final term, Sydney University could not contain the minor premiers in the final 20 minutes.


Sydney Premier Division – Grand Final

Division 3: UNSW-Eastern Suburbs 11.13: 79 (Ben Camilleri 5, Samuel Tagliabue 2, Warren Swanson, Robert Stevens, Shane Powell, Samuel Laughlin) d Sydney University 7.9: 51 (Jack Walker 2, Craig Boustred 2, Thomas Radford, Riordin Lee, Anthony Herring) at Blacktown Olympic Park.

Best Players:

UNSW-Eastern Suburbs: Ben Camilleri, Mark Dixon, Robert Crocket, Ryan Pike, Michael McAlister, Chris Peters.

Sydney University: Jack Walker, John Huxtable, Anthony Herring, Rowan Barnes, Paul Younan, Charles Allworth.