Women add Kiama 7s to trophy cabinet

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Women add Kiama 7s to trophy cabinet

Sydney University Women’s Rugby team are the Kiama 7s Tournament champions after an undefeated run at the weekend.

Sydney University defeated a host of strong representative sides, including NSW Country, ACT and Sydney rivals Warringah on their way to the title.

Roisin McNulty,  Alex Hargreaves and Iliseva Batibasaga scored tries in their 19-12 win over ACT in the final.

Wallaroo recruit Batibasaga was a standout on the day, scoring six tries, while Alex Hargreaves scored five.

The day did not come without a cost however, with star winger and Japanese international Marie Yamaguchi sustaining a fractured ankle in the first game against NSW Country.

Sydney University will compete in the Warringah 7s By The Sea tournament this Saturday.

The winning team from Kiama 7s included: Alex Hargreaves, Iliseva Batibasaga, Faryaneh Hayati, Roisin McNulty, Kelly Ducker, Sarah Jean, Haruka Takahashi, Marie Yamaguchi, Sheridan Gho, Stephanie Cuvellier, Gwendy DeDecker and Terry Andrews.