Graham Croker
Opener Michael Barwick was the hero of the day at Tunks Park on Saturday when Sydney University Sixth Grade won the 2009-10 Metropolitan Cup cricket competition with a first innings win over North Sydney.
Barwick crafted a top-score of 75 as the Students amassed 8-160 in reply to North Sydney’s first innings total of 159.
He faced 197 balls in a 173-minute occupation of the crease and found the pickets eight times. Barwick eventually departed – lbw to Varun Sahni – with the score on 141 after sharing a 75-run sixth-wicket partnership with Simon Cowan (34).
Sahni was the pick of the North Sydney attack, finishing with 3-19 off 12.2 overs.
North Sydney won the toss, elected to bat, and were in fine fettle at 2-70. But three quick wickets had them 5-100 before Peter Grundy, who top-scored with 60, added some respectability to the tally.
When Dave Gatt entered the University attack, Norths lost 4-14 and were scarpered for 159. Gatt finished with 3-30 and was ably assisted by Sam Mahabady (3-45) and Simon Cowan (2-29).
University skipper Simon Cowell accepted the Metropolitan Cup on behalf of team-mates Michael Barwick, Ash Crasto, Alex Barwick, Simon Cowan, Cam Hawkins, Jarrod Waterlow, Paul Bertelle, Srin Vasista, Dave Gatt and Sam Mahabady.

Metropolitan Cup – Final

Sydney University 8-160 (Michael Barwick 75, Simon Cowan 34; Varun Sahni 3-19) d North Sydney 159 (Pat Grundy 60, Tom Hewett 27, Andrew Brotherson 21; Dave Gatt 3-30, Sam Mahabady 3-45, Simon Cowan 2-29) on the first innings at Tunks Park. Toss won by: North Sydney. Batted first: North Sydney. Sydney University premiers for 2009-10.