Sutherland collect limited-overs title

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Sutherland collect limited-overs title

Graham Croker
A telling spell from Sutherland quick Andre Adams helped the Shire side to the 2009-10 Sydney Grade Cricket limited-overs title at Sydney University No.1 Oval on Sunday.
Adams finished with 4-26 off 9.3 overs after running through the Sydney University middle order and reducing the hosts to 157 off 47.3 overs. When Sutherland reached 5-157 in reply, the title was in the bag.
The Students made a solid start after winning the toss and batting, with openers Will Hay (29) and Scott Henry (21) putting on 43 before Henry was caught by Nic Maddison off the bowling of Adam Fleming.
Enter Adams and exit Ian Moran (0), Greg Mail (1) and Mark Faraday (1) as the Students slumped to 5-67 and disaster in the making.
But Liam Robertson (28), Matthew Morgan (28) and Chris Jones (17) restored some respectability to proceedings as Sydney University struggled to 157.
When Stuart Clark trapped danger man Phil Jaques lbw for 14 and Greg Mail had fellow opener Nic Maddison caught by Will Hay for 17, the Students were back in the hunt.
But an 87-run partnership between Matthew Hughston (64) and Matthew Bradley (43 not out) steered the visitors to victory and the 2009-10 title.
Meanwhile, Sydney University are staring down the barrel in their two-day encounter in Round 14 of the Sydney Grade competition.
After being sent in by Parramatta at Sydney University No.1 Oval on Saturday, the Students were dismissed for 226, with Tom Keirath (50), Josh Toyer (34 not out), Liam Robertson (30) and Will Hay (26) the main contributors.
Parramatta mounted a solid reply and were a threatening 0-48 at stumps on day one, with Adam Turrell on 30 and Brenton Cherry on 17.
In the lower grades, Michael Culkoff cracked an unbeaten 130 in Sydney University Second Grade’s 7-351 at stumps on day one against Parramatta at Old Kings Oval.
Thirds have Parramatta 2-33 in reply to their 226 at Sydney University No.2 Oval; Parramatta were 9-187 at stumps at Merrylands Oval; and Sydney University Fifth Grade have Parramatta on the ropes at 5-32 in reply to their 7(dec)-285 at St Paul’s College Oval.

Limited overs final
Sutherland 5-157 off 41.2 overs (Matthew Hughston 64, Matthew Bradley 43 not out; Tom Kierath 2-37, Stuart Clark 2-28) d Sydney University 157 47.3 overs (Will Hay 29, Matthew Morgan 28, Liam Robertson 28; Andre Adams 4-26, Adam Fleming 3-32) at Sydney University No.1 Oval. (When scores were tied, Sutherland automatically won the title.)
Sydney Grade competition – Round 14
First Grade: Sydney University 226 (Tom Keirath 50, Josh Toyer 34 not out, Liam Robertson 30, Will Hay 26; Anthony Marr 3-59, Michael Wood 2-41, Daniel Jackson 2-45, Ben Martin 2-59) v Parramatta 0-48 (Adam Turrell 30 not out) stumps, day one, at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Parramatta. Batted first: Sydney University.
Second Grade: Sydney University 7-351 (Michael Culkoff 130 not out, Adam Theobald 92, Tim Ley 69 not out; James Parkinson 5-59, Luke Dempsey 2-50) v Parramatta, stumps, day one, at Old Kings Oval. Toss: Sydney University.
Third Grade: Sydney University 226 (Jack Hammond 56, Suda Sivapalin 52, Matthew Gregory 38, Ken Huckle 26; Steve Karam 3-33, Peter Freney 3-57, James Pike 2-49) v Parramatta 2-33 (Tim Fragogianis 26 not out; Brendon Smith 2-8) stumps, day one, at Sydney University No.2 Oval. Toss: Sydney University.
Fourth Grade: Parramatta 9-187 (Mark Ward 53, Scott Copperfield 32 not out, Ankur Patel 31; Kerrod McPherson 4-23, Josh Lawrence 2-30) v Sydney University, stumps, day one, at Merrylands Oval. Toss: Parramatta.
Fifth Grade: 7(dec)-285 (Jim Kazaglis 73, Benjamin Peacock 53 not out, Aaron Khongwar 36, Angus Glynne 34 not out) v Parramatta 5-32 (Virosh Poolasangandrum 2-2, Angus Glynne 2-6) stumps, day one, at St Paul’s College Oval. Toss: Parramatta.