Graham Croker

Middle-order batting told the story of the match as Manly-Warringah won the 2009-10 Sydney Grade Twenty20 competition at Blacktown Olympic Park on Australia Day.
While the Sydney University middle order slumped after an impressive opening, Manly-Warringah’s middle order fired after a disastrous opening to the grand final.
After winning the toss and batting first, the Students amassed 8-128 off 20 overs, with openers Scott Henry (37 off 25 balls) and Will Hay (35 off 44) putting on 57 at the top of the order. Manly-Warringah replied with 4-130 off 19.3 overs. The Coasties were 2-12 before Stephen O’Keefe (51 not out off 40 balls) and Mitch Cleary (43 not out off 33) tonked their side to the title. O’Keefe was named man of the match.
Earlier in the day, Sydney University had won their way through to the grand final with a comprehensive six-wicket win over Gordon in their semi-final. Chasing Gordon’s 8-80, the Students reached the target in 14 overs with Ian Moran top scoring with 37.
Manly-Warringah defeated Penrith by one run in their semi-final. Manly batted first and made 8-103 before restricting Penrith to 9-102 in a nail-biter.
Meanwhile, Greg Mail continued his good season with the bat in the Round 12 match against Hawkesbury.
The prolific opener scored 79 as the Students totaled 204 at Owen Earle Oval on Saturday. The hosts were 0-37 at stumps on day one of the two-day fixture.
Mark Faraday cracked 154 in Sydney University Second XI’s 8(dec)-408 at No.1 Oval. Hawkesbury were 0-44 at stumps on day one.
Sydney University Thirds were 7-236 at stumps at Benson’s Lane No.2 Oval; Fourths are precariously placed at 5-107 in reply to Hawkesbury’s 167 at Sydney University No.2 Oval; and were 9-286 at stumps, thanks to big innings from Virosh Poolagasandrum (71) and Simon Cowell (55).


Sydney Grade Twenty20 competition – Grand final

Manly 4-130 off 19.3 overs (Stephen O’Keefe 51, Mitch Cleary 43 not out, Tim Cruikshank 25; Marty Paskall 1-21, Ian Moran 1-23) d Sydney University 8-128 off 20 overs (Scott Henry 37, Will Hay 35, Chris Jones 27; James Munting 3-20, Jack Ritchie 2-18) at Blacktown Olympic Park No.1 Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University.

Sydney Grade competition – Round 12

First Grade: Sydney University 204 (Greg Mail 79, Will Hay 39; Anthony Kershler 2-17, Timothy McKay 2-33, Jarrod Lee 2-40) v Hawkesbury 0-37 stumps, day one at Owen Earle Oval. Toss: Hawkesbury. Batted first: Sydney University.

Second Grade: Sydney University 8(dec)-408 (Mark Faraday 154, Liam Robertson 66, Nick Larkin 45, Tim Ley 37, Michael Culkoff 32; Matthew Williams 4-83) v Hawkesbury 0-44 stumps, day one at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Hawkesbury. Batted first: Sydney University.

Third Grade: Sydney University 7-236 (Alisdair Grant 63 not out, Mark Hackett 53, Matthew Gregory 30, Ash Cowan 25) v Hawkesbury stumps, day one at Benson’s Lane No.2 Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University.

Fourth Grade: Hawkesbury 167 (Jake Leyshon 42, Rhys Whybrow 25; Charles Cull 5-49, Daniel Bragg 2-19, Kerrod McPherson 2-40) v Sydney University 5-107 (Michael Shields 2-20, Jake Leyshon 2-23) stumps, day one at Sydney University No.2 Oval. Toss: Hawkesbury. Batted first: Hawkesbury.

Fifth Grade: Sydney University 9-286 (Virosh Poolagasandrum 71, Simon Cowell 55, Justin Young 42, Angus Glyne 30; Alan McGregor 5-33) v Hawkesbury stumps, day one at Benson’s Lane No.3 Oval.

Women’s National League – Final

NSW 9-206 off 50 overs (Alex Blackwell 54, Lisa Sthalekar 49) d Victoria 147 off39.1 overs at the Melbourne Cricket Ground.