Graham Croker

Sydney University’s First and Second XIs set some new run-scoring benchmarks on the opening day of Round 7 matches against Northern Districts in the Sydney Grade competition.
First XI opener Greg Mail became the first SUCC player to score consecutive double centuries when he cracked 212 at Sydney University No.1 Oval on Saturday after the Students had lost the toss and been sent in to bat. He scored an unbeaten 214 against Randwick-Petersham in Round 6.
Mail’s 337-minute stay at the crease on Saturday included 28 boundaries and three sixes. And his 310-run partnership with David Miller (120) broke the previous First Grade record for the fourth wicket of 229 set in the 1924-25 season. Sydney University were 4-391 at stumps.
The Sydney University skipper’s season also includes innings of 166 against Manly-Warringah in Round 4 which followed a mid-week knock of 223 for NSW Second XI against Victoria.
Meanwhile, Sydney University Seconds became just the second team in the club’s history to post more than 500 in an innings when they declared at 4-507 at Waitara Oval on Saturday.
According to club records, the only other instance of a 500-plus total was 514 posted by First Grade in the 1914-15 season.
And the 292-run second-wicket partnership between Mark Faraday (186) and Adam Theobald (168) became the highest stand for any wicket in Second Grade, bettering the 291-run partnership between Nick Larkin and Josh Ryan earlier in the season.
The Seconds had Northern Districts 1-84 at stumps.
In other matches, Sydney University Thirds were all out for 341 at stumps at No.2 Oval; Fourths are 1-22 after skittling Northern Districts for 168; and Fifths have the District 9-252 at St Paul’s College Oval.


Sydney Grade Cricket – Round 7 (Two-day matches)

First Grade: Sydney University 4-391 (Greg Mail 212, David Miller 120 not out; Andrew McLean 2-52) v Northern District, stumps, day one at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss won by: Northern District. Batted first: Sydney University.
Second Grade: 4(dec)-507 (Mark Faraday 186, Adam Theobald 168, Chris Jones 71 not out, Liam Robertson 55; James Kerr 2-98) v Northern District 1-84 (Chris Burnett 41 not out) stumps, day one at Waitara Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University.
Third Grade: Sydney University 341 (Mark Hackett 64, Suda Sivapalan 57, Alisdair Grant 35, Josh Lawrence 34; Nick Cheadle 4-80, Mark Jones 2-52) stumps, day one at Sydney University No.2 Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University.
Fourth Grade: Northern District 162 (Chris Ashby 42; Charles Cull 3-31, Daniel Bragg 3-50) v Sydney University 1-22, stumps, day one at Asquith Oval. Toss: Northern District. Batted first: Northern District.
Fifth Grade: Northern District 9-252 (Ansh Gopalani 101, Shane Cash 56 not out, Jonathon Leonard 40; James Rodgers 3-45, Greg Metcalfe 3-70, Ed Quoyle 3-72, stumps, day one at St Paul’s College Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Northern District.

Poidevin-Gray Shield – Round 3 (Twenty20)

Sydney University 5-153 (David Miller 57, Ben Larkin 55; Jacob Taucher 2-6) d Eastern Suburbs 9-105 (Tim Armstrong 29; Nigel Cowell 2-13, Hasi Balasurija 2-22) at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University.