Sydney Uni success at the NSWIS Annual Dinner

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Sydney Uni success at the NSWIS Annual Dinner

Sydney Uni Sport & Fitness scholarship holders Francis Hegerty, Murray Stewart and Kaarle McCulloch all took out awards at the New South Wales Institute of Sport (NSWIS) Awards Dinner, last night at the Australian Jockey Club in Sydney.

Sydney Uni Sport & Fitness was excited to have a total of 11 scholarship holders nominated for the various awards.

Francis Hegerty won the Sportspeople Career Development Award. As Client Manager of the Government Portfolio at Westpac, Hegerty is a key point of contact for clients needs.

To couple this and his sport of rowing, for which he won a silver medal in the men’s four at the 2009 world championships; Hegerty is studying a Masters of Commerce at the University of Sydney.

Murray Stewart won The University of Sydney Academic Excellence Award, in which he was up against fellow Sydney University students Alexandra Croak (Diving), Keesja Gofers (Water Polo), Rosalyn Lawrence (Canoe Slalom) and Aimee Watson (Winter Sports).

2008 saw Stewart finish off a Bachelor of Design in Architecture at the University of Sydney, where he maintained an average grade of 81.5%. In 2009 Stewart commenced a Masters of Architecture.

In semester one, Stewart completed three subjects attaining a distinction, credit and a pass and was awarded the Sydney University Vice Chancellor’s Scholarship.

Kaarle McCulloch was a joint winner of the Sydney City Toyota Team Athlete of the Year, with Sailing’s Iain Jensen and Nathan Outteridge.

Cyclist McCulloch has experienced a meteoric rise in her career. McCulloch’s crowning moment of 2009 came in March when she teamed with Anna Meares to take home a gold medal in the Women’s Team Sprint from the UCI Track Cycling World Championships in Poland.

McCulloch anchored the two person team to hold off a fast finishing team from Great Britain to win in a world record breaking time.

Sydney Uni Sport & Fitness congratulates not only the winners, but all nominees on their outstanding performances this year.