By Shari Wakefield 

Sydney Uni Swim Club was announced as the Australian Unity Club of the Year at the Telstra Swimmer of the Year Awards, last night in Canberra.

The Australian Unity GO Club PB is the national swimming club standard that recognizes and rewards swimming clubs by measuring their performance across 5 key areas.

‘To win the Australian Unity GO Club award for this year is a fantastic achievement for the Club. The Club has continued to grow and perform across all five key areas of Memberships,  Administration,  Activities,  Coaching and officiating  Marketing and promotion,’ said Head Coach Steve Alderman.

Head Coach Steve Alderman and Coach Vanessa Smith attended the award ceremony in Canberra to accept the trophy and $5000 prize money.

‘A special mention needs to go to Vanessa Smith for her enthusiasm and organisational efforts in administrating the application. The Committee, swimmers, coaches, parents and Sydney University Sport & Fitness should be delight in being involved with this award, as it is truly a team effort and we look forward to another successful season ahead,’ said Alderman.

In addition to the club award, Matthew Abood was named in the Testra International All Star Team.

Abood had a whirl wind season, in which he upstaged World record holder Eamon Sullivan in the 50-metre freestyle final at the world championships swimming trials in Sydney.