Three grades through to semi-finals

  1. Home
  2. Uncategorised
  3. Three grades through to semi-finals

Graham Croker

A comprehensive 104-run first innings win over Sydney in their qualifying final at Waverley Oval at the weekend kept Sydney University on target for a third Sydney Grade Cricket premiership in seven years.
Sydney University broke an 89-year drought when they won the Belvidere Cup for the first grade title in the 2002-03 season. They won the title again in 2005-06 and are a good show of adding another this season with Australian fast bowler Stuart Clark and NSW representatives Ed Cowan and Greg Mail all available for the finals and all contributing to the win over Sydney.
Clark, who has missed much of the summer with an elbow injury, returned to grade cricket two weeks ago in a bid to reclaim his Australian spot and make the upcoming Ashes tour.
While he collected 3-35 off 11 overs, it was Mail who carved through the strong Sydney batting line-up, finishing with 5-15 from seven telling overs of medium pace.
The Students virtually had the two-day fixture wrapped up on Saturday when Mail won the toss and gave Sydney first use of the Waverley strip. Just 33.4 overs later they were all out for 108.
And by stumps on Saturday evening, Sydney University were coasting along at 4-159, with opener Ed Cowan back in the pavilion with 79 next to his name and Ben Larkin not out on 34. Larking pushed his score to 58 on Sunday as the Students went on to amass 212. Sydney were 1-36 in their second innings when stumps were drawn.
Sydney University will meet Penrith at University No.1 Oval in one semi-final this weekend, with St George and Bankstown contesting the other.
Sydney University has also made the semi-finals in Second and Third grades, and missed out by one wicket from advancing in Fifth Grade.
Second Grade won a close qualifying final over Sutherland at Glenn McGrath Oval. After scoring 245, with Dave Butchart (64), Tom Kierath (51), Mark Faraday (32) and Adam Theobold (20) to main contributors, the Students dismissed Sutherland for 237. Nick Dunford (3-48), Josh Ryan (2-16) and Tim Ley (2-71) were the best of the leather flingers.
Second Grade will meet Manly-Warringah at Manly Oval in one semi-final, with Penrith and Sutherland fighting out the other.
Dave Jessup’s neat 100, helped guide Sydney University Third Grade to a first innings qualifying final win over Eastern Suburbs.
The Students amassed 283 after batting first at University No.1 Oval, before dismissing Eastern Suburbs for 124, thanks to a 5-48 haul from Nigel Cowell. They will meet Manly-Warringah in the semi-final.
Fifth Grade can count themselves unlucky not to be advancing to the semi-finals after drawing with Randwick-Petersham and bowing out, having finished lower on the competition ladder.
Nick Burke (90) and Hasi Balasurija (57) top-scored for the Students in their total of 243. But Randwick-Petersham held out on day two and were 9-186 at stumps despite the efforts of Balasurija (3-37) and Alisdair Grant (3-53).
With four of the five grades having made the qualifying finals, Sydney University fell 13 points short of winning the Club Championship, which was won by Penrith.


Sydney Grade Cricket: men’s qualifying finals

First Grade: Sydney University 212 (Ed Cowan 79, Ben Larking 58, David Miller 20 not out; Darren Ettridge 4-54, Jon Moss 2-19, Russell Arnold 2-23) v Sydney 108 (Nidhuvan Gotadke 21, Tim Sparke 19; Greg Mail 5-15, Stuart Clark 3-35, Ian Moran 2-27) and 1-36 on the first innings at Waverley Oval. Toss won by: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney. Semi-final: Sydney University v Penrith at Sydney University No.1 Oval.
Second Grade: Sydney University 245 (Dave Butchart 64, Tom Kierath 51, Mark Faraday 32, Adam Theobold 20; Luke Fleming 5-91, Jason Holley 3-62) d Sutherland 237 (Joel Burnett 50, Chris Williams 47, Joel Brockley 39, Luke Fleming 32 not out; Nick Dunford 3-48, Josh Ryan 2-16, Tim Ley 2-71) on the first innings at Glenn McGrath Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Semi-final: Sydney University v Manly Warringah at Manly Oval.
Third Grade: Sydney University 283 (Dave Jessup 100, Tom Harrington 52, Michael Culkoff 26; David Richards 3-67, Dan Rootes 3-69, Bernhard Balin 2-56) d Eastern Suburbs 124 (Steve Warner 25; Nigel Cowell 5-48, Brendon Smith 3-32, Michael Culkoff 2-24) on the first innings at Sydney University No.1 Oval. Toss: Eastern Suburbs. Batted first: Sydney University. Semi-final: Sydney University v Manly-Warringah.
Fifth Grade: Sydney University 243 (Nick Burke 90, Hasi Balasurija 57; Matt Hilder 3-66, Gabe Budwee 2-33) drew with Randwick-Petersham 9-186 (Thomas Holland 74, Barton Lynch 41; Hasi Balasurija 3-37, Alisdair Grant 3-53) at Coogee Oval. Toss: Sydney University. Batted first: Sydney University. Randwick-Petersham proceed to semi-final.